Obama, Concentration Camps, Caskets and Veggie Gardens

I got your attention, didn’t I?!?!  Read on for, perhaps, the most interesting article I’ve written thus far.  You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll have a good time.

Over this past weekend, I spent a few days just outside of St. Louis visiting my mother-in-law (shout out to Sullivan, MO!!!).  She has recently hired a couple of home healthcare workers to aid with her diabetes, housework and medical care.  These two women do an AMAZING job and my family is so very happy with them.  On our last morning in town, however, the conversation turned to politics (which I usually shy away from around family).  As I sat on the couch and spoke with the nurse who works the morning shift, she leveled an absolute doozy (sp?) on me.

She asked me who I am supporting this election (Obama for me, Romney for her).  Then, she went into this long diatribe about Obama.  First, she described to me how Obama has begun building concentration camps (yes, you read that correctly) across the country.  When I asked her why Obama would want to do such a thing, she said that he had been filling these camps full of caskets.  Millions of caskets, in fact!

Not really knowing where to go from there, I asked her WHY Obama would even consider doing such a thing.  She couldn’t give me a straight answer, claiming that he was stockpiling caskets to prep for the apocalypse.  Hhhmmm.  OK.  When I prodded her further, trying to find out the source of such info, she said one of her Facebook friends had posted the actual paperwork from the government approving this project (then it must be true!!).  Seeing as how I taught American Government for several years, I attempted to explain to her that he could not carry out such a scheme without the approval of Congress (she claimed he used his Executive Order power to get around Congress).  This young woman had no idea what the caskets were going to be used for, but strongly believed in the fabricated story nonetheless.  I have no clue how to even respond to such a fantastical story, so let’s move on to her next bombshell.

She then went on to say that Obama had again used his Executive Order power to declare that he could use the federal government to begin stockpiling foodstuffs (again, prepping for this apocalypse that seems inevitable).  Where, then, would these food products come from?  Our home veggie gardens, of course!  She said that he passed this order which states that he could send federal agents into our homes and backyard gardens to get any supplies needed for the government.  Believe it or not, this woman fully believed the words dripping from her mouth.  She looked me in the eyes and said “Chris, why would Obama want my corn and tomatoes?  What’s he gonna do with that stuff???”.  Those were her actual words.  Do I even need to say more????  I do, because this isn’t the end of the story, folks!!

After that conversation, I didn’t really know what to say or do.  I decided to end it without getting into a heated discussion with the nurse.  I could have easily debunked her claims with just a few strokes on the keyboard, but didn’t want a full-blown argument with my mom-in-law’s caregiver.  So…I listened to her nonsense and went on my way.  When we arrived home on Tuesday, I decided to do a little internet research and couldn’t believe what I found.

Enter Fox News commentator Glenn Beck.  I’m sure you all know who this guy is.  He is ultra-conservative, has nationally syndicated radio and TV shows and is widely beloved by conservatives.

It turns out her misinformation was something promoted by Beck himself, on his television show.  Take a look at this:

Swiping material from the X-Files, Fox’s Glenn Beck warns that Obama is setting up FEMA concentration camps to warehouse the nation’s neocons, fundies, wingnuts, and dittoheads.

In a recent spot on FOX and Friends, Beck claimed that he had conducted “research on” the so-called  concentration camps being built by the Obama White House as part of a conspiracy to establish totalitarian rule in America and the he could not “debunk them.”  According to Beck, “If you have any fear that we might be heading toward a totalitarian state, look out.  There is something happening in our country and it ain’t good.”

To think that a worldwide news organization (if you can call Fox News actual “news” and not just another arm of the GOP) would actually air such idiocy on TV is baffling, to say the least.  Sadly, though, it is true.

There is, in fact, actual “news” footage of Obama’s supposed concentration camps on the web.  Check this out.  Be prepared to laugh!!!  Direct from YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nr_yQ9vBPH4

I never cease to be amazed at the absolute HORSE CRAP that many conservatives are able to not only believe, but spread to their friends and family.  If you are having trouble believing this crazy story, I challenge you to go online and use the search terms “Obama concentration camp”.  It will shock you!

Chris

Leave a Reply

